The journey begins: Theatre Memories – 50 Years of Singapore Theatre…..

Hello! My name is Jennifer Lim, I’m an actress and filmmaker based in London.

JLimages

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0510545/

At the tender age of five, my beloved grandmother introduced me to Theatre

wayangimages

and Films

shawbrothers

which led to me studying Theatre Studies & Drama at A Levels,

masks.index                                         couple masks.images

and going on to become a thespian much to the chagrin of my parents.

chagrin mask.images

I’ve done much of my thesping in the UK, Europe & the USA

NT      prague      ART

In the time that I was away, the theatre scene in Singapore has blossomed like a vibrant flower,

VF2images

or even a ripened fruit…….

explanade.images

I felt it was time for me to explore pastures back home.

You can take a girl out of Singapore but you can’t take Singapore out of the girl

index  assam laksa.images chuehkweh.images nasilemak Oyster.images stingray.images

Thus when I found out about

SG50.images

I wanted to do something for and about theatre in Singapore

iVM.mages         drama centre.index

to remember, celebrate, nurture, develop and in the words of a renowned theatre practitioner:

10686703_10152383130821426_7595636342915209704_n

Through Theatre, as a society we uncover the past, and open up many new possible futures’ – Huzir Sulaiman

When I shared my vision with fellow Singaporean, Annie Kwan

Annie-2522

She liked it so much she asked to come on board

ahoythereindex

Thus Theatre Memories: 50 Years of Singapore Theatre came into being!

Until next time time…….

it's comingsoonimages

More exciting news to follow on next blog post re the 50 interviewees and partners…….

Leave a Reply

